Myoglobin  
The molecule
 
  Myoglobin is a small, globular hemoprotein consisting of 153 amino acids (Mr ~17000 Da) found in the cytoplasm of skeletal (type I and IIa) and heart muscle in concentrations up to 0.5 mM. Myoglobin-containing muscles are red, such as a normal mouse heart (WT=wild type) shown at the right; if the myoglobin content is reduced, as in poultry meat, or if myoglobin is lacking completely due to a genetic manipulation (myo-/-, figure at the very right), the muscle fibers look much paler.

Similar to its molecular relative hemoglobin, which manages the O2 transport from the lung to the cells, myoglobin reversibly binds O2 but with a sixfold higher affinity than the – with the bloodstream circulating – hemoglobin. Thereby, it can easily take over the hemoglobin-provided O2 from the capillaries. O2 binds to the central iron atom of the heme group (marked in orange at the left; also compare the section about 1H NMR).

For the oxymyoglobin so formed three different functions were up to now suggested, which were mainly derived from in vitro experiments with pharmacological inhibition of myoglobin:

  • Storage of O2 as emergency reservoir
  • Facilitated O2 diffusion, that means in parallel to the diffusion of physically dissolved O2, a transport of myoglobin-bound O2 takes place from the capillary to the mitochondria
  • Myoglobin-mediated oxidative phosphorylation
 
Functions of myoglobin

While the function of myoglobin as O2 reservoir is generally accepted – which is in particular supported by the up to tenfold higher myoglobin content in muscles of diving vertebrates, such as dolphins and whales – both of the other functions were under dispute for decades due to contradictory data in the literature. The entire research area was revived some years ago by the generation of myoglobin-deficient mice (see figure top right) in our and an american laboratory. By comparison of normal control animals with the myoglobin lacking mutant we could show, that the facilitated O2 diffusion by myoglobin indeed plays a major role for the adequate O2 supply of the heart, and that on the other hand the myoglobin-mediated oxidative phosphorylation is only, if at all, of less significance (Merx et al, 2001).

What's more, we could discover surprisingly two important novel functions of myoglobin in muscle metabolism: The ability of myoglobin to effectively degrade both nitric oxide (NO) as well as free reactive oxygen species (compare also the original publications given below). The key to all of these investigations was the noninvasive measurement of myoglobin in the heart by 1H NMR spectroscopy (see next section).

 
 
 
1H NMR spectroscopy of valine 68
 
 
  The adjoining figure shows once again in detail the structure of myoglobin's heme group. The central iron atom (orange) is surrounded by four nitrogen atoms (blue) in the plane of the porphyrin ring. The lower coordination site of the iron is occupied by another nitrogen (of the "proximal" histidine, His93 or F8), whereas the O2 bond takes place above the ring plan. The binding of O2 is additionally stablized by a hydrogen bridge bond to the "distal" histidine (His64 or E7). In the immediate neighbourhood one can recognize the methyl groups of valine 68 (E11), whose protons can be used as reporter nuclei of the current situation at the heme.

When the heart tissue is adequately supplied with O2, myoglobin – owing to its high O2 affinity – is completely oxygenated (MbO2), and the methyl protons of the valine can be detected at a chemical shift of -2.7 ppm in the 1H NMR spectrum of the heart (bottom trace). Only at a mismatch between O2 supply and consumption myoglobin gets deoxygenated which is reflected in an intensity decrease of the MbO2 signal. In that, the magnitude of this signal permits an assessment of the myocardial O2 supply. Making use of a simple mathematical transformation the intensity of MbO2 signal can be utilized to calculate the intracellular O2 partial pressure (PO2) of the heart muscle cells – a quantity, which is very difficult to access with other methods.

The oxygenation level is, however, not the only parameter, which affects the signal of the valine protons in the 1H NMR spectrum. Generally spoken, each change of the chemical or electronical environment at the heme results in an alteration of the signal's intensity or position. For example, when the poisonous CO ejects the bound O2 due to its higher affinity to the heme iron, the formed MbCO is reflected in the spectrum by a signal at -2.3 ppm (top trace). Besides a ligand exchange the oxidation state of the iron also has an affect on the proton signal: if the iron in the center of myoglobin's heme looses an electron and converts from the normally divalent to the trivalent state – generally termed as metmyoglobin (metMb) – the fraction of the generated metMb can be unambiguously detected by its signal at -3.8 ppm (middle trace, see also the next section aboout myoglobin and nitric oxide).

Taken together, monitoring the protons of the valine 68 by 1H NMR spectroscopy as reporter nuclei of the electronic situation at the heme group yields versatile information about oxygenation, ligands, and redox state of cardiac myoglobin, and thereby about the current metabolic state of the heart.

 
 
 
Myoglobin and nitric oxide
 
 
  The figure on the left shows 1H and 31P NMR spectra of a wild type (WT) heart, to which continuously increasing amounts of nitric oxide were applied via the coronary vessels. As apparent from the both lower traces, NO concentrations up to 1 µM did neither affect the oxygenation of myoglobin nor the energy state of the heart. If the infused amount of NO was raised, at [NO] ≥ 2.5 µM a decrease of the MbO2 signal at -2.7 ppm was observed. Concomitantly, a new signal at -3.8 ppm was detected, that can be unequivocally assigned to metMb (see above) by both control measurements of commercially available Mb and comparison with literature data.

At [NO] = 5 µM approximately 50% of the MbO2 was converted to metMb reaching nearly 100% conversion at 25 µM NO (see also the quantitative analysis of this experiment). This reaction was reversible after cessation of the NO infusion (top trace), reflecting the rapid regeneration of MbO2 by metMb reductase activity (compare the scheme below). It is noteworthy that the conversion of MbO2 to metMb is already detectable at NO concentrations at which 31P NMR spectra did not yet show any adverse effect on cardiac energy status (third trace from top).

Further experiments about the dose-dependent effect of NO on function and energetics of WT and myoglobin-deficient (myo-/-) heart revealed, that exactly in the NO concentration range that caused the formation of metMb, myo-/- hearts were more sensitive to NO, in that depression of contractile as well as energetic parameters were more pronounced when compared with WT hearts (see also the quantitative analysis of this experiment). In an additional set of experiments we could show that lack of myoglobin results not only in an enhanced sensitivity of the heart to exogenously applied NO but also to the endogenous stimulation of the endothelial NO synthase (eNOS) by bradykinin (cf. Flögel et al, 2001). These data indicate that Mb is crucial to the inactivation of NO and substantially determines the dose–response curve of the NO effects on coronary blood flow and cardiac contractility.
The described results can be easily reconciled with well-known chemical reactions of myoglobin and NO (see scheme on the right). However, although the individual steps have been exhaustively studied in vitro, it was not clear that together they constitute a metabolic cycle that has functional relevance in cardiac NO homeostasis in vivo. Obviously, the reaction of MbO2 + NO → metMb + nitrate represents a "chemical hoover", which takes care that even during enhanced NO synthase (NOS) activity cytosolic NO levels are kept extremely low, and by this protects the respiratory chain from detrimental effects of the reactive NO species.

Of fundamental importance for the efficacy of this hoover is the activity of the endogenous metMb reductase which ensures the regeneration of Mb from metMb. Subsequent association with O2 leads to reformation of MbO2 available for another NO degradation cycle. This "molecular firewall" works highly efficient, so that even a massively raised NO formation by an overexpression of the inducible NO synthase (iNOS) can suprisingly be neutralized.

 
The detrimental effects of durable increased amounts of NO surface not until myoglobin is inactivated in parallel by pharmacological or genetic intervention. Then they result –- similar as described above –- in impaired cardiac function and energetics, which lately may lead to terminal heart failure (cf. the original publications given below). Taken together these experiments demonstrate that myoglobin serves as an important cytoplasmic scavenger of bioactive NO, and thereby as a barrier for protection of the heart against nitrosative stress. This represents an additional –- besides its known role in oxygen storage and delivery –-, up to now hidden, physiological function of this well known protein.
 
 
 
Own work about the role of myoglobin in the heart
 
 
A complete overview about our peer-reviewed publications of the last years can be found here. The references are linked with the PubMed abstracts of the National Library of Medicine. If your are interested in one of these papers, and you don't have online access to the respective journal, send us an email, so that we can provide you with the appropriate pdf-file.
 
Methodical studies
 
Flögel U, Merx MW, Gödecke A, Decking UK, Schrader J.
Myoglobin: A scavenger of bioactive NO.
Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2001; 98: 735-40.
 
Merx MW, Flögel U, Stumpe T, Gödecke A, Decking UK, Schrader J.
Myoglobin facilitates oxygen diffusion.
FASEB J. 2001;15: 1077-9.
 
Reviews and Comments
 
Flögel U, Fago A, Rassaf T.
Keeping the heart in balance: the functional interactions of myoglobin with nitrogen oxides.
J Exp Biol. 2010; 213: 2726-33.
 
Hendgen-Cotta UB, Flögel U, Kelm M, Rassaf T.
Unmasking the Janus face of myoglobin in health and disease.
J Exp Biol. 2010; 213: 2734-40.
 
Flögel U, Dang CV.
Myoglobin tames tumor growth and spread.
J Clin Invest. 2009; 119: 766-8.
 
Applications
 
Hendgen-Cotta UB, Esfeld S, Coman C, Ahrends R, Klein-Hitpass L, Flögel U, Rassaf T, Totzeck M.
A novel physiological role for cardiac myoglobin in lipid metabolism.
Sci Rep. 2017; 7: 43219 (13 pages).
 
Flögel U, Jacoby C, Gödecke A, Schrader J.
In vivo 2D mapping of impaired murine cardiac energetics in NO-induced heart failure.
Magn Reson Med. 2007; 57: 50-8.
 
Rassaf T, Flögel U, Drexhage C, Hendgen-Cotta U, Kelm M, Schrader J.
Nitrite reductase function of deoxymyoglobin: oxygen sensor and regulator of cardiac energetics and function.
Circ Res. 2007; 100: 1749-54.
 
Flögel U, Laussmann T, Gödecke A, Abanador N, Schäfers M, Fingas CD, Metzger S, Levkau B, Jacoby C, Schrader J.
Lack of myoglobin causes a switch in cardiac substrate selection.
Circ Res. 2005; 96: e68-75.
 
Merx MW, Gödecke A, Flögel U, Schrader J.
Oxygen supply and nitric oxide scavenging by myoglobin contribute to exercise endurance and cardiac function.
FASEB J. 2005; 19: 1015-7.
 
Flögel U, Gödecke A, Klotz LO, Schrader J.
Role of myoglobin in the antioxidant defense of the heart.
FASEB J. 2004; 18: 1156-8.
 
Wunderlich C, Flögel U, Gödecke A, Heger J, Schrader J.
Acute inhibition of myoglobin impairs contractility and energy state of iNOS-overexpressing hearts.
Circ Res. 2003; 92: 1352-8.
 
Gödecke A, Molojavyi A, Heger J, Flögel U, Ding Z, Jacoby C, Schrader J.
Myoglobin protects the heart from inducible nitric-oxide synthase iNOS-mediated nitrosative stress.
J Biol Chem. 2003; 278: 21761-6.
 
Gödecke A, Flögel U, Zanger K, Ding Z, Hirchenhain J, Decking UK, Schrader J.
Disruption of myoglobin in mice induces multiple compensatory mechanisms.
Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1999; 96: 10495-500.

Myoglobin  
Das Molekül
 
  Myoglobin ist ein kleines, globuläres Hämoprotein aus 153 Aminosäuren (Mr ~17000 Da), das bis zu einer Konzentration von 0.5 mM im Cytosol der Skelett- (Typ I und IIa) und Herzmuskulatur vorkommt. Myoglobinhaltige Muskeln sind rot, wie rechts am Beispiel eines normalen Mäuseherzens (WT=Wildtyp) gezeigt; ist der Myoglobingehalt reduziert, z.B. im Geflügelfleisch, oder fehlt das Myoglobin aufgrund einer genetischen Manipulation vollständig (myo-/-, Abbildung rechts außen), erscheinen die Muskelfasern erheblich blasser.

Ähnlich wie das verwandte Hämoglobin, das den O2-Transport von der Lunge zu den Zellen bewerkstelligt, bindet das Myoglobin reversibel O2 – allerdings mit einer sechsfach höheren Affinität als das im Blutkreislauf zirkulierende Hämoglobin. Dadurch kann es den vom Hämoglobin in der Kapillare bereitgestellten O2 leicht übernehmen. O2 bindet an das zentrale Eisenatom der Hämgruppe (in der linken Abbildung orange markiert, vergleiche auch den 1H-NMR-Abschnitt). Für das nun gebildete Oxymyoglobin wurden bislang drei verschiedene Funktionen vorgeschlagen:

  • Speicherung von O2 als Notfallreserve
  • Erleichterte O2-Diffusion, d.h. daß parallel zu der Diffusion von physikalisch gelöstem O2 ein Transport von Myoglobin-gebundenem O2 von der Kapillare zu den Mitochondrien erfolgt
  • Myoglobin-vermittelte oxidative Phosphorylierung
 
Funktionen von Myoglobin
Während die Funktion von Myoglobin als O2-Reservoir allgemein akzeptiert ist – was insbesondere durch den bis zu zehnfach höheren Myoglobingehalt in Muskeln von tauchenden Säugetieren, wie Delphinen und Walen, gestützt wird – waren die beiden anderen Funktionen aufgrund der widersprüchlichen Datenlage lange umstritten. Dem gesamten Forschungsgebiet wurde jedoch vor wenigen Jahren durch die Erzeugung Myoglobin-defizienter Mäuse (siehe Abbildung rechts oben) in unserer und einer amerikanischen Arbeitsgruppe frisches Leben eingehaucht. Durch Vergleich der Myoglobin-Verlustmutante mit normalen Kontrolltieren konnten wir zeigen, daß Myoglobin in der Tat eine wichtige Rolle bei der erleichterten O2-Diffusion im Herzen zukommt, und daß demgegenüber die Myoglobin-vermittelte oxidative Phosphorylierung, wenn überhaupt, nur eine untergeordnete Bedeutung besitzt (Merx et al, 2001).

Darüber hinaus konnten wir überraschenderweise zwei wichtige neue Funktionen von Myoglobin im Stoffwechsel des Muskels entdecken: Die Fähigkeit von Myoglobin, sowohl Stickstoffmonoxid (NO) als auch freie Sauerstoffradikale effektiv abzubauen (vgl. auch die unten angebenen Originalarbeiten). Für alle diese Untersuchungen war die nichtinvasive Messung des Myoglobins im Herzen mittels 1H-NMR-Spektroskopie von entscheidender Bedeutung (siehe den nächsten Abschnitt).

 
 
 
1H-NMR-Spektroskopie des Valins 68
 
 
  Die nebenstehende Abbildung zeigt noch einmal im Detail die strukturellen Verhältnisse an der Hämgruppe des Myoglobins. Das zentrale Eisenatom (orange) ist in der Ebene des Porphyrinrings von vier Stickstoffatomen (blau) umgeben. Die untere Koordinationsstelle wird von einem weiteren Stickstoff (des "proximalen" Histidins, His93 oder F8) besetzt, während die O2-Bindung oberhalb der Ringebene erfolgt. Die Bindung des O2 wird durch eine Wasserstoffbrückenbindung zum "distalen" Histidin (His64 oder E7) zusätzlich stabilisiert. In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft dazu erkennt man die Methylgruppen des Valin 68 (E11), deren Protonen als Reporterkerne für die aktuelle Situation am Häm genutzt werden können.

Bei adäquater O2-Versorgung des Herzgewebes liegt das Myoglobin infolge seiner hohen O2-Affinität vollständig oxygeniert vor (MbO2). In dieser Form erhält man für die Protonen des Valins im 1H-NMR-Spektrum des Herzens ein Signal bei -2.7 ppm (siehe die untere Spur). Nur bei einem Ungleichgewicht zwischen O2-Angebot und Verbrauch kommt es zu einer Deoxygenierung des Myoglobins und somit zu einer Abnahme der Intensität des MbO2-Signals. Insofern läßt sich aus der Stärke dieses Signals auf den aktuellen Stand der myokardialen O2-Versorgung schließen. Über einen einfachen mathematischen Zusammenhang kann man daraus auch den intrazellulären O2-Partialdruck der Herzmuskelzellen berechnen – eine Größe, die mit anderen Methoden nur sehr schwer zugänglich ist.

Der Oxygenierungsgrad ist jedoch nicht der einzige Parameter, der das Signal für die Protonen des Valins im 1H-NMR-Spektrum beeinflußt. Ganz allgemein führen Veränderungen an der chemischen bzw. elektronischen Situation am Häm zu Änderungen von Intensität und Lage dieses Signals. Verdrängt zum Beispiel das giftige CO aufgrund seiner höheren Affinität zum Eisen den gebundenen O2, so spiegelt sich das entstehende MbCO im Spektrum durch ein Signal bei -2.3 ppm wider (obere Spur). Neben einem Ligandenaustausch beeinflußt auch der Oxidationsstatus des Eisens das Protonensignal: Verliert das Eisen im Myoglobin beispielsweise ein Elektron und geht vom normalerweise zweiwertigen in den dreiwertigen Zustand – üblicherweise als Metmyoglobin (metMb) bezeichnet – über, so läßt sich der Anteil des gebildeten metMb anhand seines Signals bei -3.8 ppm eindeutig nachweisen (mittlere Spur, vergleiche auch den nächsten Abschnitt über Myoglobin und Stickstoffmonoxid).

Insgesamt lassen sich also über die 1H-NMR-spektroskopisch sensitiven Reporterprotonen des Valins vielfältige Informationen über die Situation an der Hämgruppe des Myoglobins gewinnen (Oxygenierung, Ligandenbindung, Redoxstatus), die wiederum den aktuellen metabolischen Zustand des Herzens reflektieren.

 
 
 
Myoglobin und Stickstoffmonoxid
 
 
  Die nebenstehende Abbildung zeigt 1H- und 31P-NMR-Spektren eines Wildtyp-Herzens (WT), dem kontinuierlich immer größer werdende Mengen von Stickstoffmonoxid (NO) über die Koronargefäße zugeführt wurden. Aus den unteren beiden Spuren ist ersichtlich, daß NO-Konzentrationen bis zu 1 µM keinerlei Auswirkungen auf die Oxygenierung des Myoglobins bzw. auf den Energiestatus des Herzens haben. Steigert man jedoch die infundierte NO-Menge, kommt es ≥ 2.5 µM zu einem Abfall des MbO2-Signals bei -2.7 ppm. Gleichzeitig läßt sich ein zusätzliches Signal bei -3.8 ppm detektieren, daß zweifelsfrei dem metMb zugeordnet werden kann (siehe oben).

Erhöht man die NO-Konzentration noch weiter, wird das MbO2 nahezu vollständig in metMb überführt (siehe die quantitative Auswertung dieses Experiments). Diese Reaktion ist jedoch nach Beendigung der NO-Infusion reversibel (oberste Spur), was die rasche Regenerierung des MbO2 durch die metMb-Reduktase widerspiegelt (vergleiche das Schema weiter unten). Bemerkenswert ist, daß die Umwandlung von MbO2 in metMb bereits bei NO-Konzentrationen nachweisbar ist, bei denen in den 31P-NMR-Spektren noch keinerlei Anzeichen für eine Beeinträchtigung des Energiestatus bemerkbar sind.

Vergleicht man nun in einem weiteren Experiment die dosisabhängigen Effekte von NO auf die Funktion und Energetik von WT bzw. Myoglobin-defizienten (myo-/-) Herzen, so erkennt man, daß genau in dem Konzentrationsbereich, in dem im WT die Umwandlung von MbO2 in metMb erfolgt, myo-/--Herzen empfindlicher auf gleiche Mengen infundierten NOs reagieren (siehe die quantitative Auswertung dieses Experiments). Dies spiegelt sich sowohl in einer stärkeren Einschränkung der linksventrikulären Druckentwicklung (LVDP) als auch des Energiestatus (verminderte PCr- und erhöhte ADP-Spiegel) wider. In weiteren Untersuchungen zeigte sich, daß das Fehlen des Myoglobins nicht nur zu einer erhöhten Sensitivität des Herzens auf die exogene Gabe von NO sondern auch auf die endogene Stimulation der endothelialen NO-Synthase (eNOS) mittels Bradykinin führt (vgl. Flögel et al, 2001). Diese Befunde legen den Schluß nahe, daß es in Gegenwart von Myoglobin offenbar zu einer substantiellen Inaktivierung des bioaktiven NOs kommt.
Dies läßt sich zwanglos mit bereits lange bekannten chemischen Reaktionen von Myoglobin und NO (siehe das Schema auf der rechten Seite) in Einklang bringen, die zwar im Reagenzglas schon ausführlich untersucht worden sind, von denen aber bis jetzt nicht klar war, daß sie von physiologischer Relevanz sind. Offensichtlich ist die Reaktion von MbO2 + NO → metMb + Nitrat ein "chemischer Staubsauger", der dafür sorgt, daß selbst bei erhöhter NOS-Aktivität die cytosolischen NO-Spiegel extrem niedrig gehalten und so schädigende Einflüsse der NO-Radikale auf die Atmungskette vermieden werden können.

Von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Wirksamkeit dieses Staubsaugers ist die Aktivität der metMb-Reduktase, die dafür sorgt, daß gebildetes metMb wieder in MbO2 überführt wird und für einen neuen Zyklus zur Verfügung steht. Diese molekulare "Firewall" arbeitet so effizient, daß überraschenderweise selbst eine massiv gesteigerte NO-Produktion durch eine Überexpression der induzierbaren NO-Synthase (iNOS) neutralisiert werden kann.

 
Erst wenn man parallel dazu durch pharmakologische oder genetische Intervention das Myoglobin ausschaltet, zeigt sich der negative Einfluß permanent erhöhter NO-Mengen, der sich ähnlich wie oben in einer geschränkten Funktion und Energetik manifestiert und letztendlich bis zum Herzversagen führen kann (vgl. die nachstehenden Originalarbeiten). Zusammenfassend läßt sich aus diesen Experimenten ableiten, daß Myoglobin eine zentrale Rolle in der Inaktivierung von NO zukommt und eine effektive Barriere zum Schutz des Herzens vor nitrosativem Stress bildet. Dies stellt –- neben den weiter oben beschriebenen Funktionen wie O2-Speicher und -Transport – eine neue, bislang im Verborgenen gebliebene physiologische Funktion dieses altbekannten Proteins dar.
 
 
 
Eigene Arbeiten zum Myoglobin
 
 
Eine vollständige Übersicht über die in den letzten Jahren von uns publizierten Arbeiten finden Sie hier. Die Literaturstellen sind verlinkt mit den PubMed-Abstracts der National Library of Medicine. Wenn Sie Interesse an einer dieser Arbeiten und keinen Online-Zugang zu der entsprechenden Zeitschrift haben, senden Sie uns eine Email, damit wir Ihnen eine PDF-Datei zukommen lassen können.
 
Methodische Arbeiten
 
Flögel U, Merx MW, Gödecke A, Decking UK, Schrader J.
Myoglobin: A scavenger of bioactive NO.
Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2001; 98: 735-40.
 
Merx MW, Flögel U, Stumpe T, Gödecke A, Decking UK, Schrader J.
Myoglobin facilitates oxygen diffusion.
FASEB J. 2001;15: 1077-9.
 
Übersichtsarbeiten und Kommentare
 
Flögel U, Fago A, Rassaf T.
Keeping the heart in balance: the functional interactions of myoglobin with nitrogen oxides.
J Exp Biol. 2010; 213: 2726-33.
 
Hendgen-Cotta UB, Flögel U, Kelm M, Rassaf T.
Unmasking the Janus face of myoglobin in health and disease.
J Exp Biol. 2010; 213: 2734-40.
 
Flögel U, Dang CV.
Myoglobin tames tumor growth and spread.
J Clin Invest. 2009; 119: 766-8.
 
Anwendungen
 
Flögel U, Jacoby C, Gödecke A, Schrader J.
In vivo 2D mapping of impaired murine cardiac energetics in NO-induced heart failure.
Magn Reson Med. 2007; 57: 50-8.
 
Rassaf T, Flögel U, Drexhage C, Hendgen-Cotta U, Kelm M, Schrader J.
Nitrite reductase function of deoxymyoglobin: oxygen sensor and regulator of cardiac energetics and function.
Circ Res. 2007; 100: 1749-54.
 
Flögel U, Laussmann T, Gödecke A, Abanador N, Schäfers M, Fingas CD, Metzger S, Levkau B, Jacoby C, Schrader J.
Lack of myoglobin causes a switch in cardiac substrate selection.
Circ Res. 2005; 96: e68-75.
 
Merx MW, Gödecke A, Flögel U, Schrader J.
Oxygen supply and nitric oxide scavenging by myoglobin contribute to exercise endurance and cardiac function.
FASEB J. 2005; 19: 1015-7.
 
Flögel U, Gödecke A, Klotz LO, Schrader J.
Role of myoglobin in the antioxidant defense of the heart.
FASEB J. 2004; 18: 1156-8.
 
Wunderlich C, Flögel U, Gödecke A, Heger J, Schrader J.
Acute inhibition of myoglobin impairs contractility and energy state of iNOS-overexpressing hearts.
Circ Res. 2003; 92: 1352-8.
 
Gödecke A, Molojavyi A, Heger J, Flögel U, Ding Z, Jacoby C, Schrader J.
Myoglobin protects the heart from inducible nitric-oxide synthase iNOS-mediated nitrosative stress.
J Biol Chem. 2003; 278: 21761-6.
 
Gödecke A, Flögel U, Zanger K, Ding Z, Hirchenhain J, Decking UK, Schrader J.
Disruption of myoglobin in mice induces multiple compensatory mechanisms.
Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1999; 96: 10495-500.