Substrate usage 13C NMR Metabolism (I)  
Body lipids Substrat shift
  Publications
Analysis of substrate selection by 13C NMR spectroscopy
 
To ensure the continuous energy supply required for regular heart work, a permanent de novo synthesis of the spent ATP is absolutely essential. For this, primarily sugar and fatty acids are burned: a healthy heart normally fuels its energy production by one third from glucose and by two-thirds from palmitic acid oxidation. However, in several cardiac diseases – in particular during development of cardiac hypertrophy, i.e. an overgrowth of the heart due to enhanced loading – this normal ratio is shifted to an increased glucose utilization and a reduced oxidation of fatty acids.

Such substrate shifts can be smartly demonstrated by isotopomer analysis using 13C NMR spectroscopy, in which one makes use of the coupling patterns arising from neighbouring 13C nuclei. The principle of this method is schematically illustrated in the figure below and briefly described in the following.

  The heart is supplied with substrates, at which the normal carbon isotope 12C is substituted by the naturally to less than 1% abundant isotope 13C (in contrast to 14C not radioactive) at suitable positions in the molecule. The exchanged atoms are marked in blue for glucose and in red for palmitate, respectively.

When these substrates are running through the normal metabolic pathways (first glycolysis, then the tricarboxylic acid (TCA) cycle – also known as citric acid cycle), the 13C labels of glucose and palmitate, respectively, will end up at different positions of the glutamate carbon skeleton depending from the original substrate as well as the number of turns within the TCA cycle.

Who is interested in more facts about this, may trace by clicks on glucose and palmitate, respectively, in detail the fate of the molecule's label in metabolism and the formation of the individual glutamate isotopomers.

The differing neighbourhood of 13C nuclei in the respective glutamate isotopomers is reflected in distinct coupling patterns within the 13C NMR spectra (see figure above): single labelling results in a singlet, double labelling in a doublet, and triple labelling in a doublet of doublet or rather a quartet. It is noteworthy, that on basis of the diverse coupling constants (abbreviated by J, see also theory) one can even distinguish, whether the double labelling is existent at C3+C4 (J34=34 Hz) or at C4+C5 (J45=51 Hz) of glutamate. Hence, it can be unequivocally determined from which carbon source the individual isotopomers originate, and thereby alterations in substrate metabolism can be detected (see below).
 
 
 
Changes in substrate utilization
 
 
  The left figure shows the area of glutamate C4 from 13C NMR spectra of heart tissue taken from normal, healthy mice (bottom, WT=wildtype) and from mice, which are lacking the hemoprotein myoglobin (top, myo-/-). When comparing the signals from these spectra with the scheme of couplings shown above, one can retrieve in both cases the patterns for all of the four possible glutamate isotopomers. However, it is striking that the ratio of the signals, which originate from the metabolization of the two different substrates, differ clearly.  
While in the upper trace the patterns evoked by combustion of glucose are particularly eye-catching, in the lower spectrum the signals pointing to utilization of palmitate stick out. The quantitative analysis (displayed at the right) unambiguously shows that lack of myoglobin leads to a shift of the normal fuel utilization ratio of 1:3 (glucose:fatty acid) to an almost equal metabolization of both substrates – a shift which is similarly observed during development of cardiac hypertrophy in man (see above).

Indeed myoglobin-deficient mice do surprisingly not exhibit any signs or cardiac disease despite the absence of the O2 carrier protein (O2=oxygen). This can be explained by the formation of a set of compensatory mechanisms, which are all aimed at buffering off the disturbance in O2 supply, such as increases in capillary density, coronary flow, coronary reserve, and hematocrit (cf. Gödecke et al, 1999). Thereby, the offer of O2 at the vascular site is enhanced, the O2 gradient from capillary to mitochondria increased, and consequently the diffusion of O2 from vessel to the place of consumption facilitated.

In addition the substrate shift as detected by 13C NMR spectroscopy acts as a biochemical O2 saving mechanism at the consumer end: it is well known that for combustion of glucose noticeable less O2 is required as for combustion of fatty acids – at generation of same amounts of ATP. Therefore, by increased utilization of the oxidative more favourable substrate, that is glucose, myoglobin-deficient hearts compensate the loss of the O2 carrier and storage protein myoglobin (for a detailed description and discussion of the respective experiments please have a look at Flögel et al, 2005).
 
 
 
Own work about substrate metabolism
 
 
A complete overview about our peer-reviewed publications of the last years can be found here. The references are linked with the PubMed abstracts of the National Library of Medicine. If your are interested in one of these papers, and you don't have online access to the respective journal, send us an email, so that we can provide you with the appropriate pdf-file.

 

Methodical studies
 
Flögel U, Laussmann T, Gödecke A, Abanador N, Schäfers M, Fingas CD, Metzger S, Levkau B, Jacoby C, Schrader J.
Lack of myoglobin causes a switch in cardiac substrate selection.
Circ Res. 2005; 96: e68-75.
 
Flögel U, Willker W, Leibfritz D.
Determination of de novo synthesized amino acids in cellular proteins revisited by 13C NMR spectroscopy.
NMR Biomed. 1997; 10: 50-8.
 
Applications
 
Waclawczyk S, Buchheiser A, Flögel U, Radke TF, Kögler G.
In vitro differentiation of unrestricted somatic stem cells into functional hepatic-like cells displaying a hepatocyte-like glucose metabolism.
J Cell Physiol. 2010; 225: 545-54.
 
Flögel U, Leibfritz D.
Alterations in glial cell metabolism during recovery from chronic osmotic stress.
Neurochem Res. 1998; 23: 1553-61.
 
Willker W, Flögel U, Leibfritz D.
Ultra-high-resolved HSQC spectra of multiple 13C-labeled biofluids.
J Magn Reson. 1997; 125: 216-9.
 
Flögel U, Willker W, Engelmann J, Niendorf T, Leibfritz D.
Adaptation of cellular metabolism to anisosmotic conditions in a glial cell line, as assessed by 13C NMR spectroscopy.
Dev Neurosci. 1996; 18: 449-59.

Substratnutzung 13C-Markierung Stoffwechsel (I)  
Körperfett Substratshift
  Publikationen
Analyse des Substratmetabolismus
 
Zur Bereitstellung der für die regelmäßige Herzarbeit notwendigen Energie ist eine ständige Neusysnthese des verbrauchten ATPs notwendig. Hierzu werden hauptsächlich Zucker und Fettsäuren verbrannt, wobei ein gesundes Herz normalerweise etwa zu einem Drittel Glucose und zu zwei Drittel Palmitinsäure zur Energieproduktion nutzt. Allerdings kommt es bei einigen Herzerkrankungen – insbesondere bei einer Hypertrophie, sprich Herzverdickung infolge von hoher Belastung – zu einer Verschiebung dieses Verhältnisses von 1:3 und zu einer verstärkten Verstoffwechselung von Glucose.

Ein solcher Substratshift läßt sich experimentell sehr elegant durch eine Isotopomerenanalyse mittels 13C-NMR-Spektroskopie nachweisen, wobei man sich die Kopplungsmuster benachbarter 13C-Atome zunutze macht. Das Prinzip dieser Methode ist in untenstehender Abbildung schematisch dargestellt und nachfolgend kurz erläutert.

  Man läßt das Herz Substrate verbrennen, bei denen an geeigneten Stellen im Molekül das normale Kohlenstoffisotop 12C durch das natürlich nur zu weniger als 1% vorkommende Isotop 13C (im Gegensatz zu 14C nicht radioaktiv) ersetzt ist. Die ausgetauschten Atome sind für die Glucose blau bzw. für die Palmitinsäure rot gekennzeichnet.

Durchlaufen diese Substrate die normalen Stoffwechselwege (erst die Glykolyse, dann den Citratzyklus) landet die Markierung schließlich – in Abhängigkeit vom Ausgangssubstrat und der Zahl der Umläufe im Citratzyklus – an unterschiedlichen Positionen im Kohlenstoffgerüst des Glutamats.

Wer mehr wissen will, kann durch Clicks auf Glucose bzw. Palmitat die Markierung dieser Moleküle durch den Stoffwechsel und das Entstehen der verschiedenen Isotopomere des Glutamats im Detail verfolgen.

Die unterschiedlichen Nachbarschaftsverhältnisse der 13C-Kerne in den jeweiligen Glutamatisotopomeren spiegeln sich in eindeutigen Kopplungsmustern im 13C-NMR-Spektrum wider (vgl. obige Abbildung): eine Monomarkierung ergibt ein Singulett, eine Doppelmarkierung ein Dublett und eine Tripelmarkierung ein Dublett von Dublett bzw. ein Quartett. Bemerkenswert ist, daß man aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Kopplungskonstanten (abgekürzt mit J, vgl. auch Theorie) sogar unterscheiden kann, ob die Doppelmarkierung an C3+C4 (J34=34 Hz) oder an C4+C5 (J45=51 Hz) des Glutamats vorliegt. Damit läßt sich zweifelsfrei feststellen, aus welchem Ausgangssubstrat die einzelnen Isotopomere gebildet worden sind, und somit Veränderungen im Substratstoffwechsel nachweisen (siehe unten).
 
 
 
Veränderungen im Substratstoffwechsel
 
 
  Die Abbildung links zeigt den Bereich des Glutamat-C4 aus 13C-NMR-Spektren von Herzgewebe, das aus normalen, gesunden Mäusen (unten, WT=Wildtyp) entnommen wurde bzw. von Mäusen, denen das Hämoprotein Myoglobin fehlt (oben, myo-/-). Vergleicht man die Signale in den Spektren mit den oben dargestellten Schemata der Kopplungen, so findet man in beiden Fällen die Muster für die vier denkbaren Isotopomeren des Glutamats wieder. Es fällt jedoch auf, daß sich das Verhältnis der Signale, die von der Verstoffwechselung der beiden verschiedenen Substrate herrühren, deutlich unterscheiden.  
Während oben vor allem die Muster, die durch die Verbrennung von Glucose hervorgerufen werden, ins Auge stechen, überwiegen im unteren Spektrum die Signale, die auf die Verwendung von Palmitat schließen lassen. Die quantitative Auswertung (Abbildung rechts) zeigt eindeutig, daß das Fehlen des Myoglobins zu einer Verschiebung des normalen Verbrennungs-Verhältnisses von 1:3 (Glucose:Fettsäure) zu einer etwa gleichen Nutzung der beiden Substrate führt – ein Shift, den man auch während der Ausbildung einer Hypertrophie im Menschen beobachtet (siehe oben).

Allerdings zeigen Myoglobin-defiziente Mäuse trotz des Fehlens dieses O2-Trägerproteins (O2=Sauerstoff) erstaunlicherweise keinerlei Anzeichen einer Herzerkrankung. Dies ist auf die Ausbildung einer ganzen Reihe von Kompensationsmechanismen zurückzuführen, die alle darauf ausgerichtet sind, die Störung in der O2-Versorgung abzupuffern, wie z.B Erhöhungen in der Kapillardichte, des koronaren Flußes, der Koronarreserve und des Hämatokrits (vgl. Gödecke et al, 1999). Dadurch wird das O2-Angebot auf der vaskulären Seite erhöht, der O2-Gradient von der Kapillare zu den Mitochondrien gesteigert und somit die Diffusion des O2 vom Gefäß zum Ort der Verbrennung erleichtert.

Parallel dazu wirkt der mittels 13C-NMR-Spektroskopie nachgewiesene Substratshift als biochemischer O2-Sparmechanismus auf der Verbraucherseite: Es ist bekannt, daß zur Verbrennung von Glucose deutlich weniger O2 verbraucht wird als bei der Verbrennung von Fettsäuren – bei Bildung gleicher Mengen von ATP. Somit kompensieren die Myoglobin-defizienten Herzen durch vermehrte Verwendung des oxidativ günstigeren Substrates, nämlich von Glucose, den Verlust des O2-Träger- und -Speicherproteins Myoglobin (für eine ausführlichere Darstellung und Diskussion der Ergebnisse vgl. Flögel et al, 2005).
 
 
 
Eigene Arbeiten zum Substratstoffwechsel
 
 
Eine vollständige Übersicht über die in den letzten Jahren von uns publizierten Arbeiten finden Sie hier. Die Literaturstellen sind verlinkt mit den PubMed-Abstracts der National Library of Medicine. Wenn Sie Interesse an einer dieser Arbeiten und keinen Online-Zugang zu der entsprechenden Zeitschrift haben, senden Sie uns eine Email, damit wir Ihnen eine PDF-Datei zukommen lassen können.
 
Methodische Arbeiten
 
Flögel U, Laussmann T, Gödecke A, Abanador N, Schäfers M, Fingas CD, Metzger S, Levkau B, Jacoby C, Schrader J.
Lack of myoglobin causes a switch in cardiac substrate selection.
Circ Res. 2005; 96: e68-75.
 
Flögel U, Willker W, Leibfritz D.
Determination of de novo synthesized amino acids in cellular proteins revisited by 13C NMR spectroscopy.
NMR Biomed. 1997; 10: 50-8.
 
Anwendungen
 
Waclawczyk S, Buchheiser A, Flögel U, Radke TF, Kögler G.
In vitro differentiation of unrestricted somatic stem cells into functional hepatic-like cells displaying a hepatocyte-like glucose metabolism.
J Cell Physiol. 2010; 225: 545-54.
 
Flögel U, Leibfritz D.
Alterations in glial cell metabolism during recovery from chronic osmotic stress.
Neurochem Res. 1998; 23: 1553-61.
 
Willker W, Flögel U, Leibfritz D.
Ultra-high-resolved HSQC spectra of multiple 13C-labeled biofluids.
J Magn Reson. 1997; 125: 216-9.
 
Flögel U, Willker W, Engelmann J, Niendorf T, Leibfritz D.
Adaptation of cellular metabolism to anisosmotic conditions in a glial cell line, as assessed by 13C NMR spectroscopy.
Dev Neurosci. 1996; 18: 449-59.